Pyre

I’m not sure how to explain

losing religion but it never losing me

I know in the Bible Belt

there’s a lot that could mean

Let me clarify:

I have practiced unbelief

it never did any good to me

and I have practiced like they said

sinking with weights tied to my hands

and I heard the weapons of their words

trained to double back just to hurt

So I sought the Spirit

and it lit a fire

burned my old heart down

on the Spirit’s pyre

I picked up whatever was still around

And found revival from the ground

so I’m a believer

but not like that

and I’m a doubter

but I don’t live well without it

I’m setting tables

for the people they dishonor

and I think God

is more than just a father

and I’ve got Holy

coursing through my veins

and so do you

because that’s how we’re made

Leave a comment